The Vision, Mission & Philosophy of the Department of Residence

Department of Residence Staff Directory

Organizational Chart (updated August 1, 2019)

DOR Unit Directories Residence Life Directories
Director's OfficeFacilities ServicesResidence Life Administrative Staff 
Administrative ServicesMarketing ServicesResidence Life Live-in Staff
Business ServicesTechnology ServicesHall Desks & Apt. Community Offices
Conference Services Staff Duty / On-Call Numbers

With over 400 full-time, part-time and student employees, the DOR is one of the largest non-academic departments on campus! Our residence life, facilities, administrative, business, marketing, conference and technology staff work to ensure a safe, supportive learning and social environment where students can thrive as they pursue their adventure at Iowa State.

OUR VISION: To serve as the premier living environment for advancing student success at Iowa State University.

OUR MISSION: To advance student success at Iowa State University by providing the most supportive and inclusive living/learning communities.

OUR PHILOSOPHY: The Department of Residence is dedicated to providing a student-centered, co-curricular environment that enhances the academic mission of the university, and which embodies the belief that learning at Iowa State University has no physical boundaries. Through the programs, services, and interactions provided by the Department of Residence, students are empowered to become engaged learners, responsible citizens, dynamic leaders, and individuals who are guided by integrity. We are committed to challenging Iowa State University students to broaden their world view in a campus culture that values and respects individual differences.

The Department of Residence staff is proactive regarding student needs and interests. Staff challenges students to expand their horizons and to make healthy and ethical decisions. A hallmark of our operating style is the creation of collaborative partnerships with students, their families, faculty, staff, and alumni that foster the development and transformation of students within a supported and healthy campus community.  As professional educators we are committed to constantly improving our knowledge and skills in order to provide the optimal educationally purposeful environment for our students.

OUR VALUES:

  • Student Success: Ensuring students persist, graduate and experience success.
  • Community Engagement: Empowering students to become engaged learners, responsible citizens and dynamic leaders
  • Outstanding Facilities: Providing facilities that serve students well.
  • Health and Support: Offering programs and structures that foster a supportive and healthy community.
  • Resource Management: Improving staff knowledge, skills, and management of resources for optimal, educationally purposeful environment.

DOR Full Staff List

Office List | Photo View

Name Position Office Phone Email
Lloyd Building Improvement Assistant
Facilities Services
0347 Helser Hall 515-294-1698 mvlloyd@iastate.edu
Abrahamson, Richard Custodian I
Facilities Services
rda@iastate.edu
Alvarez, Grace Custodian I
Facilities Services
galvarez@iastate.edu
Anderson, Craig Custodian I
Facilities Services
BLF craiga@iastate.edu
Anderson, Joanne Custodian II
Facilities Services
Rover joannev@iastate.edu
Anderson, Shelley Office and Mail Manager
Residence Life
G215 Geoffroy 515-294-5362 shelleyg@iastate.edu
Anderson, Sheri Custodian I
Facilities Services
sheria@iastate.edu
Anderson, Timothy Facilities Mechanic III
Facilities Services
tanderso@iastate.edu
Andrews, Dion Custodian I
diona@iastate.edu
Arnold, Faith Office Assistant
Administrative Services
2419 Friley Hall, Ames, IA 50012 515-294-2900 resh_fcarnold@iastate.edu
Atkinson, Nicholas Custodian I
Facilities Services
nicka@iastate.edu
Barrow, Brian Facilities Mechanic III
Facilities Services
bgbarrow@iastate.edu
Bass, Jason Custodian I
Facilities Services
Buchanan jabass@iastate.edu
Bass, Matthew Custodian I
Facilities Services
mwbass@iastate.edu
Benn, Tim Custodian I
Facilities Services
trbenn@iastate.edu
Bentley, Roger Assistant Conference Coordinator
Conference Services
1243 Friley Hall 515-294-6189 rbentley@iastate.edu
Berhow, Jeff Facilities Mechanic III
Facilities Services
jcberhow@iastate.edu
Biechler, Denis Plant Services - Supervisor
Facilities Services
dbiechl@iastate.edu
Bohl, James Facilities Mechanic III
Facilities Services
jvbohl@iastate.edu
Brant, Amanda Custodian I
Facilities Services
aball@iastate.edu
Breed, Jason Custodian I
Facilities Services
jbreed@iastate.edu
Brehm, Jerry Custodian I
Facilities Services
Wallace jlbrehm@iastate.edu
Brenneman, Bryce Custodian I
Facilities Services
bryceb2@iastate.edu
Brunotte, Mary Custodian I
Facilities Services
Oak/Elm brunotte@iastate.edu
Buerer, Darcie Custodian I
Facilities Services
dabuerer@iastate.edu
Canuso, Mirna Building Services Manager
Facilities Services
515-294-4679 mcanuso@iastate.edu
Carroll, Chelsey Custodian I
cda@iastate.edu
Chappell, Josh Assignments and Technology Coordinator
Administrative Services
2419 Friley Hall 515-294-2900 joshc@iastate.edu
Charlson, Julie Administrative Support
Residence Life
1203 Friley Hall 515-294-6428 jcharlso@iastate.edu
Chelsvig, Jess Residence Hall Assignments Manager
Administrative Services
2419 Friley Hall 515-294-2900 chelsvig@iastate.edu
Clark, Kendall Facilities Mechanic III
Facilities Services
kclark@iastate.edu
Cleaveland, Michael Environmental Systems Mechanic III
Facilities Services
347 Helser mcleavel@iastate.edu
Coady, Ellen Custodian I
Facilities Services
347 Helser Hall eacoady@iastate.edu
Crain, Caroline Custodian I
Facilities Services
cacrain@iastate.edu
Cuebas-Suarez, Roberto Custodian I
Facilities Services
rc1@iastate.edu
Dalbey, Linda Custodian I
Facilities Services
lkdalbey@iastate.edu
Dempster, Madi Office Assistant
Administrative Services
2419 Friley Hall, Ames, IA 50012 515-294-2900
Dennis, Zachary Custodian I
Facilities Services
zadennis@iastate.edu
Denton, Mary Custodian I
Facilities Services
mldenton@iastate.edu
Detrick, Charles Locksmith
Facilities Services
cdetrick@iastate.edu
Dolce, Clint Custodian I
Facilities Services
cdolce@iastate.edu
Dolce, Margaret Custodian I
Facilities Services
mddolce@iastate.edu
Doolittle, Marlene Custodian I
Facilities Services
marlened@iastate.edu
Dreckman, Randy Supervisor - Custodian Services
Facilities Services
randalld@iastate.edu
Duncan, Mark Storekeeper III
Facilities Services
mduncan@iastate.edu
Earnest, Kurt Coordinator for Residence Life
Residence Life
1213 Friley 515-294-6264 kearnest@iastate.edu
Englin, Peter Director
Director's Office
1206 Friley 515-294-5636 penglin@iastate.edu
Essick, Cory Carpenter
Facilities Services
cessick@iastate.edu
Fair, Scott Carpenter
Facilities Services
smfair@iastate.edu
Farrar, Kelley Facilities Mechanic III
Facilities Services
kfarrar@iastate.edu
Finnestad, Jennifer Storekeeper II
Facilities Services
jennfinn@iastate.edu
Fjelland, Duane Custodian I
Facilities Services
Rover fjelland@iastate.edu
Fleming, Mara Office and Mail Manager
Residence Life
2112 Martin 515-294-1684 mfleming@iastate.edu
Ford, Barrett Client Support Specialist
Technology Services
A88B Friley Hall 515-294-8888 bford@iastate.edu
Galvan, Jennifer Custodian I
galvan@iastate.edu
Garrey, Richard Manager - Apartment Facilities
Facilities Services
0343 Helser 515-294-6836 rgarrey@iastate.edu
Garsow, David Coordinator for Residence Life
Residence Life
1214 Friley 515-294-7593 garsowd@iastate.edu
Gelner, Alan Carpenter
Facilities Services
argelner@iastate.edu
Gigstad, Michael Supervisor - Plant Services
Facilities Services
mgigstad@iastate.edu
Graden, Roger Associate Director for Facilities
Facilities Services
0347 Helser 515-294-3535 rgraden@iastate.edu
Griffin, Haley Custodian I
Facilities Services
hgriffin@iastate.edu
Grove, Karen Custodian I
Facilities Services
kgrove@iastate.edu
Gustafson, Alex Assignments Assistant
Administrative Services
2419 Friley Hall, Ames, IA 50012 515-294-2900 resh_alexsj98@iastate.edu
Gwiasda, Valerie Custodian I
UDA vgwiasda@iastate.edu
Haberer, Charles Facilities Mechanic III
Facilities Services
chaberer@iastate.edu
Hadaway, Cindy Office Coordinator
Residence Life
1203 Friley 515-294-8395 chadaway@iastate.edu
Hall, Maria Custodian I
Facilities Services
UDA mhall@iastate.edu
Hall, Maria Custodian I
Facilities Services
UDA mhall@iastate.edu
Hanson, Olene Custodian I
Facilities Services
ojhanson@iastate.edu
Hartl-Barr, Julie Manager of Building Improvements
Facilities Services
0281 Helser 515-294-2715 jlhartl@iastate.edu
Hauge, Brian Facilities Mechanic III
Facilities Services
haug@iastate.edu
Holmes, Sarah Coordinator for Residence Life
Residence Life
1205 Friley 515-294-5520 sholmes@iastate.edu
Housholder, Liz
Director's Office
1216 Friley Hall 515-294-9521 ehoushol@iastate.edu
Hubby, M. Custodian II
Facilities Services
RCA dhubby@iastate.edu
Jaeger, Marie Custodian II
Facilities Services
mclow@iastate.edu
Jay, Rhonda Facilities Clerk III
Facilities Services
rjay@iastate.edu
Johnson, Ronald Custodian I
Facilities Services
ronaldj@iastate.edu
Jones, Lynn Business Manager
Business Services
2431 Friley 515-294-9389 lmlarsen@iastate.edu
Katterjohn, Zack Office Assistant
Administrative Services
2419 Friley Hall, Ames, IA 50012 515-294-2900 resh_zk1@iastate.edu
Kaup-Vijayananda, Vishwas Assistant Network Administrator
A88B Friley Hall vishwask@iastate.edu
Kepley, Betty Frederiksen Court Secretary
Residence Life
1010 Frederiksen Court 515-294-2107 bkepley@iastate.edu
Kirkpatrick, Nicholas Custodian I
Facilities Services
nk1@iastate.edu
Krogh, Jay System Control Tech
Facilities Services
Helser 0374A 515-460-7028 jnkrogh@iastate.edu
Kugel, John Facilities Mechanic III
Facilities Services
jkugel@iastate.edu
Lammers, Susan Coordinator for Residence Life
Residence Life
SUV Community Center Office 515-294-8189 slammers@iastate.edu
Larson, Alysia Supervisor - Custodian Services
Facilities Services
alysial@iastate.edu
Launderville, Mark Custodian I
markl2@iastate.edu
Launderville, Tamera Custodian I
Facilities Services
tlaunder@iastate.edu
Lewman, Amy Conference Support
Conference Services
1243 Friley Hall 515-294-8384 alewman@iastate.edu
Lindstrom, Daniel Facilities Mechanic III
Facilities Services
daniell@iastate.edu
Lockard, Sean Office Assistant
Administrative Services
2419 Friley Hall, Ames, IA 50012 515-294-2900
Ludovico, Lisa Assistant Director
Administrative Services
2419 Friley 515-294-2900 ludovico@iastate.edu
Ludovico, Lisa Assistant Director
Technology Services
2419 Friley 515-294-2900 ludovico@iastate.edu
Lundberg, Leanne Custodian I
Facilities Services
UDA leannel@iastate.edu
Mafuta, Evariste Custodian I
enmafuta@iastate.edu
Main, Heath Facilities Maintenance Manager
Facilities Services
0343 Helser 515-294-0664 hmain@iastate.edu
Manning, Cindy Service Center Staff
Facilities Services
0347 Helser Hall cjmanni@iastate.edu
Manning, Tony Custodian I
Facilities Services
tonym1@iastate.edu
Martin, Deanna Custodian I
Facilities Services
Friley dmmartin@iastate.edu
Martin, Dennis Custodian I
Facilities Services
Friley dbmartin@iastate.edu
Matchie, Vonda Custodian I
Facilities Services
BWR vmatchie@iastate.edu
McKim, Michael Carpenter
Facilities Services
mack@iastate.edu
Meeder, Kenneth Custodian II
Facilities Services
Friley kmeeder@iastate.edu
Metzger, Hollyanne Systems Support Specialist
Technology Services
A88B Friley Hall 515-294-3458 hmetzger@iastate.edu
Miranda-Hernandez, Zoe Custodian II
Facilities Services
zmiranda@iastate.edu
Mittlestadt, Brenda Custodian I
Facilities Services
bmittles@iastate.edu
Moua, Kc Custodian I
kmoua@iastate.edu
Munholland, Shelly Secretary II
Facilities Services
0347 Helser 515-294-3408 shellym@iastate.edu
Murillo, Adan Clerk IV (Supervisory)
Facilities Services
amurillo@iastate.edu
Nady, George Facilities Mechanic III
Facilities Services
gknady@iastate.edu
Nall, Kathy Custodian II
Facilities Services
MWL kthill@iastate.edu
Nelson, Carol Custodian I
Facilities Services
Oak/Elm nelson@iastate.edu
Newsome, Pam Custodian I
pnewsome@iastate.edu
Nikkel, Connie Custodian I
cnikkel1@iastate.edu
Olney, Joni Custodian I
jlolney@iastate.edu
Papiboune, Amy Custodian I
amyp1@iastate.edu
Patton, Chris Secretary to the Director
Director's Office
1208 Friley 515-294-5636 ckp@iastate.edu
Pendarvis, Carla Custodian I
Facilities Services
carlap@iastate.edu
Peterson, Todd Custodian II
Facilities Services
Helser tdp@iastate.edu
Pfrimmer, Peggy Supervisor - Custodian Services
Facilities Services
UDA/TRA 515-294-5060 ppfrimme@iastate.edu
Rankin, Joy Custodian I
jlrankin@iastate.edu
Reichenberger, Bruce Facilities Mechanic II
Facilities Services
brucerei@iastate.edu
Riordan, Jerome Custodian I
jerryr@iastate.edu
Rivera, Daniela Office Assistant
Administrative Services
2419 Friley Hall, Ames, IA 50012 515-294-2900 resh_dfrivera@iastate.edu
Robinson, Sandra Custodian I
Facilities Services
sandrar@iastate.edu
Roll, Teresa Custodian I
Facilities Services
tkroll@iastate.edu
Ross, Brenda Custodian I
Facilities Services
Martin blross@iastate.edu
Royer, Martha Conference Coordinator
Conference Services
1243 Friley 515-294-1302 mroyer@iastate.edu
Rutherford, Brittney Marketing Coordinator
Marketing Services
1212 Friley 515-294-1433 brittyl@iastate.edu
Sebring, Roger Facility Services Manager
Facilities Services
0337 Helser 515-294-1729 rsebring@iastate.edu
Selsor, Richard Custodian I
rpselsor@iastate.edu
Services, Administrative housing@iastate.edu
Administrative Services
515-294-2900 housing@iastate.edu
Sherrard, Robert Insulator
Facilities Services
rsherrar@iastate.edu
Shih, Danny
Technology Services
mshih@iastate.edu
Simmons, Kelly Custodian I
kellys2@iastate.edu
Solberg, Jeff Environmental Systems Mechanic
Facilities Services
jsolberg@iastate.edu
Speight, Virginia Associate Director Residence
Residence Life
515-294-7619 vspeight@iastate.edu
Stensland, Carla Custodian I
carlas@iastate.edu
Stowe, Tanna Custodian I
Facilities Services
Friley tjstowe@iastate.edu
Stuart, Deanne Office and Mail Manager
Residence Life
1204A Roberts 515-294-6169 deannes@iastate.edu
Svaleson, Dennice Custodian I
Facilities Services
svaleson@iastate.edu
Svenson, Linda Coordinator for Residence Life
Residence Life
1211 Friley Hall 515-294-7708 lsvenson@iastate.edu
Swanson, Nicholas Health & Safety Specialist
Facilities Services
nswan@iastate.edu
Symons, Dave Manager of Information Technology
Technology Services
A88A Friley Hall symons@iastate.edu
Thompson, Scott Environmental Systems Mechanic
Facilities Services
sthompso@iastate.edu
Turner, Leonard Custodian I
Facilities Services
lwturner@iastate.edu
Urquiza, Lidia Custodian I
Facilities Services
lurquiza@iastate.edu
Vannausdle, Raymond Facilities Mechanic III
Facilities Services
rayv100@iastate.edu
Watters, Charles Custodian I
Facilities Services
charlesw@iastate.edu
Webb, Lynn Custodian I
Facilities Services
lmwebb@iastate.edu
Webb, Thomas Facilities Mechanic
twebb80@iastate.edu
Weeks, Leah Communication and Processes Coordinator
Administrative Services
2419 Friley Hall 515-294-2900 lbm@iastate.edu
Welder, Jeffrey Facilities Mechanic III
Facilities Services
jawelder@iastate.edu
West, Angela Custodian I
Facilities Services
amwest@iastate.edu
Wiese, Sarah Custodian I
Facilities Services
siwiese@iastate.edu
Williams, Andre Custodian I
andre1@iastate.edu
Wilson, Tim Network Support Specialist
Technology Services
A88B Friley Hall 515-294-1304 twilson1@iastate.edu
Wise, Nathan Supervisor - Custodian Services
Facilities Services
wisen@iastate.edu